DIY Sliced Leggings

Lets Scissor!

The other day I was shopping around (as I usually do even though I know I shouldn’t be spending money) when I came across these super cool looking leggings, they were all sliced up in the front. I really wanted to buy them but couldn’t come to terms with spending $48 on one pair. I went home that night and couldn’t stop thinking about them…these leggings would make the perfect addition to my closet – I had to have it! Instead of going out to buy them I decided to try to make them myself.

I found a pair of old leggings that have been replaced by several new leggings so if I fu*ked this up it wouldn’t matter, I still have all my other leggings.

IMG_8079.JPG

A little trick; find the seam on the leg and make sure its right in the middle when you fold the pant leg together.

IMG_8080.JPG

IMG_8081.JPG

I rarely measure, I am a firm believe in eyeballing so wherever you want to start the slices, have at it! You can make them as small or large in length as you like but generally you’ll want to keep about a cm distance from each slice so the fabric between the openings are thin.

Its really so simple, I think the most important part of this is having a pair of fabric scissors, they have a much cleaner cut than paper scissors will have.

IMG_8090

A big shoutout to my sister Lindsay for being my little model, hope you like your revitalized leggings!

When it comes to clothing I have a tendency of cutting up and revamping, I can’t tell you how many pieces I’ve thrown away or had to use as rags in the kitchen because I’ve ruined them.

IMG_7264

IMG_7268

IMG_7082

Theres really no right or wrong way – its all unique to who you are, stand out from everyone else, you don’t need to dress alike. Let those scissors help sculpt who you are, in your clothing!

 

-A

One thought on “DIY Sliced Leggings

Leave a comment